How do I live with FOMO ?

IMG_9686

 

It’s been long I wrote something. Not because I didn’t have anything to write. But mainly coz I had loads to write and express. I felt as if it would be too much to unload everything all at once.

FOMO was curbing me from writing all these days.
The fear of missing out made me feel that if I write something on a certain topic, I’m missing out on other wonderful topics that could be instead blogged about..

So now that brings me to my blogpost of the day..
Never ever let the this new-age monster cripple your tendency to enjoy what you own and can witness in the moment.
FOMO syndrome stops you from living your life. It has a habit of ruling the moment. I might be laughing away to glory with my friends when all of a sudden a panic grips me. A weird unnameable panic that says ‘Hey, what are you doing productively in your life ? What makes you enjoy so much ?’
I have to shut the panic with something like “gimme a break. Im just enjoying myself. Buzz off!”
I always have a feeling that I’m missing out on all the goodies life has to offer because I’m too contented with what I have.

I buy several books unable to finish even one because my attention shifts and I end up reading nothing completely. But I enjoy that phase. It’s skimming through without satisfaction of having completed anything. If FOMO seems exciting for you, cool ! But if it prevents you from relishing what you have at hand, then gotta shove it off !

People say that life is always lived on the edge. I feel if you’re happy with your comfort zones then life need not be lived like tomorrow is your last day. What’s wrong in living as if you’re going to live forever ?
FOMO comes from the fact that life is short.
Why keep on feeding that fear by allowing it to control you and your decisions ?

Let go ! Just let the moment give you what it can. Don’t expect yourself to live multiple moments. Gotta accept that moment is ‘The One’. Be with it wholeheartedly.

“We live in a world of things, and our only connection with them is that we know how to manipulate or to consume them.”

FOMO tells you consume all that the world offers at one go and even when you’re happy with what you have.

What if you don’t want to live a certain experience? Just because the whole world does backpacking tours through Europe, you don’t have to if you don’t want to. You can’t manipulate an experience by living in it for sake. What’s the point in travelling through all the continents if that’s not what you wanted in the first place ? Who cares if people do incredible things on earth ? Do you want to ? Ask that to yourself.

Doing those things that FOMO wants you to accomplish or ticking off items on a checklist created by some pseudo adventurers isn’t gonna help you or make you feel out of this world. You would end up becoming more confused.

The basic idea is that when you inherently have fun doing something, go ahead. Don’t pursue things that you feel would bring fun into your life just coz you saw someone having loads of frolic doing them. You never know whether it’s just for posting on social networks, someone participated in an activity or just for the pure joy of it.

IMG_9685

In a blogpost, Why Fear of Missing out is actually a good thing, also gives an instance wherein FOMO falls flat on your face..

“Your buddy Steve may look like he’s living the dream—going to concerts, traveling the world, taking Krav Maga classes—but that’s because you’re seeing his life’s highlight reel. Steve’s life is not all awesome all the time.”
-Patrick Allan, LifeHacker.com

15 thoughts on “How do I live with FOMO ?

  1. I was an impatient person actually so i had this FOMO situation all the time. Learned to slow down a bit.
    You can conquer the whole universe at once. You can’t be at multiple places at a time. Slow down and do what you love.

    Enjoyed your take on FOMO. good work! 🙂

  2. Simply wow! can’t agree with you more…live your life and be happy with what you have The grass will always seem greener on the other side, but maybe it is not. 🙂

  3. FOMO stops you from enjoying the moment for what it is, instead you’re thinking about the next adventure and when you’re having your next adventure you’ll be thinking about the next adventure instead. By the end of it, you’ve forgotten to enjoy what you’re doing at that moment and really living to the full which is ironic because isn’t that what inspired us to take on the next adventure? I understand how you feel, I’ve been told to stop doing that because it has a crippling effect on you.

    Above all, FOMO hinders gratitude and it is gratitude that actually enables us to enjoy our experiences and be truly contented and be happy.

    Tackle the issue head on, I know it feels like we should busy ourself to stop us having these thoughts but if we don’t stop and identify the problem, the problem will never get solved.

    Now, I need to do this too.

  4. FOMO = fear of missing out. I believe FOMO starts as we compare who we are, what we have to TV commercials, billboards, magazines. Being still is good, being original is good, being honest is best. Over-achievers often times FAKE smiles and feel empty while sporting the latest style. The TRUTH shall set you free to be who you are and love yourself as you are, without comparing self to others. READ this post: http://barbspark.blogspot.mx/2017/03/content-being-still.html

  5. Behind my poised exterior is a quaking irritation about how much I could be doing. Moses doubted his ability to successfully free the slaves of Egypt. Esther was afraid to approach her husband, but she did and was used by God in a huge way. Rahab must have found divine courage to defy her people and lower that scarlet rope to the spies. God has uniquely equipped me and He is faithful to give me strength in my weakness. But what IF I want to live a quiet, calm life? I read and resonated with a post on facebook today. CONSIDER this amazing blogpost: What If all I want is a mediocre life? “What if I never build an orphanage in Africa but send bags of groceries to people here and there and support a couple of kids through sponsorship. What if I just offer the small gifts I have to the world and let that be enough.” Krista O’Reilly-Davi-Digui author of A Life in Progress. Then I read a book that caught me in the midst of MY denial “From Faking it to Finding Grace” by Connie Cavanaugh.

  6. Pingback: What happened to living in the moment? – sophiaismaa

  7. A priest that used to be in our parish once explained in a homily how he keeps from falling into simply reciting the Mass as if it’s habit alone. “I try to begin each Mass imagining it’s the first, last, and only Mass I’ll ever celebrate in my life.” I try to treat each class period at school that way: the first, last, and only class I’ll ever teach in my life.”

    I think that’s a good perspective for dealing with a fear of missing out on something.

  8. David K

    There is only really one place to live and not go crazy — The Present. You forget about everything there — about the past, the future, about unattainable desires. It’s not an easy place to find, but we should all do well to seek it. I’ve been there a few times and it was wonderful.

  9. This is my first time seeing the term FOMO–fear of missing out. Interesting perspective. In relation to my blog post, Happily Ever After?, my question would then be: What exactly am I, or would I, be missing out on? Answer is still the same…nothing…

Leave a Reply

