Gratitude with “benefits”

A psychologist by name, Robert Emmons said that by keeping a journal where you record the moments you are thankful for everyday would go a long way in making you more satisfied in life and make you a better person.

I don’t know how far would that work on a regular basis. A trial is always worth it. If not forever this remedy would atleast work for five days in a month. So five multiplied by 12, I can be grateful to nature for 60 days in a year. Not a bad start.

Currently, as of this moment, I have three things to thank God. Firstly, since I use Ola car pooling service these days, my travelling cost has come down. This has eased my commuting concerns in the city. Saving hundred rupees makes a lot of difference psychologically. (I have no financial crisis any which way still- Money is Honey 😜 )

Every weekend I have a nice group of friends to hang out with. Not all of us have eventful days but I create my own without any effort. Now that is something I can feel happy about.

I am able to partially control my angst and desperation in situations that are out of my control at this phase of my life. Something really useful to be thankful about.

Here is a poem on that happy note πŸ™‚ by the one and only ME.. atleast I’m educated enough to verbalise my feelings effusively…

Unedited gratitude

I chide myself for not being grateful enough

And asking for more

Yet I demand more

contentment is far fetched

It comes and goes

Leaving me in a whirlpool of frustration

I want things to be that way

Thats how I imagined my life

Hey, nope maybe thats not what i actually need

Life always gives me what I need

What I want and what i need are totally different

What I want is my illusion

What I need is my desire

The genie tends to my welfare

Not my gratification

6 thoughts on “Gratitude with “benefits”

  1. I agree with Robert Emmons, that’s why I started a blog. There are so many things we experience in our lives and it is so sad to think of the things we could have forgotten. Writing a journal helps you go back in time to learn from your mistakes or relive the greatest of times. Your poem was beautifully written and relateable. keep writing and remembering the best of times πŸ™‚

  2. dimphokay

    “Every weekend I have a nice group of friends to hang out with. Not all of us have eventful days but I create my own without any effort. Now that is something I can feel happy about.” I do not have this but this was such a motivational read. I still need to be grateful no matter what. I also don’t keep a journal 😦 but anyway we still need to appreaciate what we have :). This was really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

